#civilrights

Happy birthday to legendary singer, songwriter, and activist, Nina Simone. Simone wowed audiences with her musical combinations of gospel, folk and pop music. As both, an activist and musician Simone became known as “The Voice of the Civil Rights Movement” in the 1960s. ⁣

In 1964, she composed "Mississippi Goddam" in response to the 1963 assassination of Medgar Evers and the Birmingham church bombing that killed four Black girls. She also wrote "Four Women," which chronicled the complex lives of four Black women, slavery to present. ⁣

What's your favorite tune by this iconic songstress? ✊🏿🎙 #Blackhistory #PushBlack
.⁣
.⁣
.⁣
.⁣
#NinaSimone #blackgirlmagic #blackhistorymonth #shareblackstories #blackexcellance #Civilrightsmovement #civilrights #60s #blackwomen⁣
I kinda felt this in my chest. I can understand just where she is coming from: you’re sick and tired of being sick and tired. Black women experience violence large and small. Violence doesn’t have to be physical—it can attack your mind, your well-being, your very sense of self. And all of it is threatening.
So even though this black history month has been wild, let’s make ourselves heard.
#rosaparks #blackhistorymonth #blackwomen #blackgirlmagic #civilrights #civilrightsmovement
Gordon Roger Alexander Buchanan Parks⠀
.⠀
A photographer, musician, writer and film director, who became eminent in U.S. documentary photojournalism in the 1940s through 1970s—specifically in issues of civil rights, poverty and African-Americans—and in glamour photography.⠀
.⠀
Born: November 30, 1912, Fort Scott, KS⠀
Died: March 7, 2006, New York City, NY⠀
.⠀
#blackhistorymonth2019 #photographer #writer #civilrights #NYC #film #HIM #DHE
Today 54 years ago, Malcolm X was assassinated. I'm hopeful one day we will follow the path he paved for many ✊🏽💡
.
.
.
#malcolmx #thetruthtopower #anniversary #restinpower #revolutionary #civilrights #blackpower #blacklivesmatter #blackempowerment #history #hate #selfhate #love #selflove
“There's no excuse for the young people not knowing who the heroes and heroines are or were”
Nina Simone: heroine, in case anyone was in doubt.
The singer, songwriter, musician and activist was born 86 years ago today.
__
📷: Jack Robinson/Archive Photos/Getty Images | October 30, 1969
__
#ninasimone jackrobinson #civilrights #activism #younggiftedandblack #fourwomen #feelingood #igotlife #mississippigoddamn #mybabyjustcaresforme #botd #littlegirlblue #archivephoto #photoarchive #historyphoto #gettyarchive
Lucasville School in Manassas VA. "Lucasville School is Prince William County's only extant one-room school built for African-American children. It is preserved so visitors may discover the people who once learned and taught in this small but significant building." Pwcgov.org

#blackhistorymonth #education #civilrights #pwcschools #freedom #remember
#Aretha. All you have to do is hear her name and you can't help but hear the voice that goes along with it. But Aretha Franklin's rise to fame was not an easy one. Her mother left home when Aretha was just six years old and she became a mother herself by the time she turned 13. Her father was an established minister in Detroit - so much so that when Dr. #MartinLutherKingJr came through Detroit, he would often stay with the Franklins. That sparked Aretha's interest in #CivilRights and she joined the movement; not just marching in the streets, but quite literally using her voice to inspire change and equality. After signing with @AtlanticRecords in 1966, she released hit after hit - "Respect", "Chain of Fools", "Think", "(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman" and "I Say a Little Prayer" - earning her the nickname #QueenOfSoul. She went on to win 18 @recordingacademy GRAMMYS, sell 75 million records worldwide, become the first female performer to be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, receive the #PresidentialMedalOfFreedom, and be named as @RollingStone magazine's number one on their list of the "100 Greatest Singers of All Time." It's no coincidence that her most memorable songs were also fierce anthems in both the civil rights and women's rights movements. Franklin died just last year and the music industry will never be the same.⁣
-⁣
#CuriosityStream #ArethaFranklin #BlackHistoryMonth #BHM #BlackHistory #history #music #MLK #gospel #soul #pop #rock #singersofinstagram #singer #queen #RESPECT #MarchOnWashington #equality #segregation #herstory #blackwomen #girlpower #icon #music #StayCurious
FACT #1 ....AMERICA THROUGH THE LENS OF MALCOLM X
#foc #malcolmx #blackhistory #blackpeople #civilrights #freedom #blackhistorymonth #panther #1960
"We need in every bay and community a group of angelic troublemakers."
Bayard Rustin
Bayard Rustin is one of my heroes. Rustin, MLK's right-hand man, was nearly written out of history... because of his sexuality. From Civil rights to gay rights movement, this master strategist should always be remembered ❤

#BayardRustin #civilrights #gayrights #nonviolence #equality #AlohaFriday #LoveWins
🌟 On this day 54 years ago, brother Malcolm X was assassinated. May our shining king Rest In Peace. 🙏🏾 "I'm for truth, no matter who tells it. I'm for justice, no matter who it's for or against." ~ Malcolm X, murdered on this day February 21, 1965 "No, I’m not an American. I’m one of the 22 million black people who are the victims of Americanism. One of the 22 million black people who are the victims of democracy, nothing but disguised hypocrisy. [...]I don’t see any American dream, I see an American nightmare." #MalcolmX ✌🏾 .
.
.
.
.
.
.
#BHM #1love❤️💚💛👆👆🙌🙌 #eachoneteachone #internetradio #americandream #anymeansnecessary #blackpanthers #democracy #ThursdayThoughts #melanin #civilrights #KingsandQueens #RootsReggaeHub #America #Toronto #Canada #Worldwide #NAACP #BlackHistoryMonth #BlackHistory #legacy
In terms of podcasts, I can not recommend @wonderymedia’s American History Tellers enough. While they haven’t explicitly covered the counterculture movement, they’ve discussed the changing tide of the 1960s in their seasons on the Civil Rights movements and Space Race, both of which were enlightening for me. Its premise is that history is about people, and so it uses the real stories of everyday Americans to craft its episodes. Lately, I’ve been fascinated with the Civil War, and they also do a fictional audio drama podcast called 1865 which is a very good. I’m a fan of their work, and I think you will be too if you’re interested in history (which, I hope, if you’re following this, you are!)
So dope✊🏾✊🏾✊🏾 I love my African roots and culture! #dance #repost #teamdl #talmbout #30yearsofcontroversy #africandance #civilrights #activist #civilrights #civilrightsactivist #africa #hebrewisraelites
" whats the difference between the black revolution and the Negro revolution " ...#Malcolmx

Rest in Power ancestor
#khalidmuhammad
#blackpower
#artist
#blackart
#paint
#hiphop
#panafricanism
#panafrican
#blackfamily
#draw
#blackartist
#blackfamily
#islam
#civilrights
#blackhistorymonth
Marc Lamont Hill was let go from CNN because he made those remarks at the U.N.
CNN said the speech was not in line with their values.
#marclamonthill #marclamonthilloncnn #marclamonthillonpalestine #marclamonthillonthebreakfastclub #freedom #civilrights #socialjustice #callthemout #liberty #life #dontpullnopunches #charlemagnethagod #djenvy #angelayee #thebreakfastclub #israel #unitednations #cnn @cnn @cnnpolitics @unitednations @djenvy @angelarye #politicalactivism #politicalaction #localaction #internationalaction
Highlighting some black girl magic! Check out Megan aka @thewokefan. She is a young activist that spreads insight into black struggles, injustices, wins, and more!

Repost:@thewokefan

Follow👉🏿@theblacktruth for more content!

Fc: 50
On the road to 60!

#black #society #whitepeople #people #young #youngleaders #blackgirls #blackgirlmagic #melanin #melaninpoppin #melaninqueen #activist #socialactivist #civilrights #futureleaders #strongwomen #strong #feminist
"My alma mater was books, a good library... I could spend the rest of my life reading, just satisfying my curiosity." On this day in 1965, the human rights activist and avid reader Malcolm X was assassinated in New York City. One of the most influential leaders & controversial figures of the 1960s, Malcolm X rejected his surname as a legacy of slavery and campaigned for African American liberation first as part of the political movement Nation of Islam and later as founder of the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU). His powerful views influenced the Black Panthers and Muhammad Ali, who is pictured here with Malcolm X in 1964.
Find out more about Malcolm X's extraordinary legacy in The Sixties: Freedom, Change & Revolution, available now in bookstores and online. .
.
.
.

#tbt #throwback #history #historyinpictures #historyiscool #historynerd #historybuff #historylover #historygram #americanhistory #blackhistory #blackhistorymonth #blackhistoryiseveryday #blacklivesmatter #blm #africanamericanhistory #africanamericanhistorymonth #malcolmx #malcolmxquotes #muhammadali #1960s #sixties #thesixties #sixtiesicon #civilrights #humanrights #activist
Scenes from Montgomery, AL .. We took a day trip down south this past weekend to visit the National Memorial for Peace and Justice. It was a truly powerful and eye opening experience. Later, we explored downtown Montgomery and I saw this beautiful couple approaching us. Then caught this picture as they were passing us. I love the timelessness of black and white, the beauty of their black skin, and the solemn tone of this image. There's a very real, dark history that exists in the deep South and haunts the city in a way. It was the birthplace of the Civil Rights movement which sheds light and hope of its existence, but where the worst, inhumane acts of racial terror also began. From the slave trade, to the plantation era, the Civil War, and desegregation of our schools, black people have been terrorized, dehumanized, and oppressed by the white communities of the South and across our nation. It was a daily existence for any black person to live in fear for their lives and their loved ones. Although laws have changed, and some progress has been made, the fear still lies under the surface and the oppression still exists. I learned a lot by visiting the memorial and the Legacy Museum downtown, but knowing does not help this tragedy. I will never be able to relate to the fear and oppression of black Americans, but I will do my best to bring awareness, teach my children that love is always the answer, and to always keep my eyes open.
X ✊🏽


#1ofOne #MalcolmX #BlackHistory #BlackHistoryMonth #PrettyBoySwag #Tiktok #TikTokmemes #BlackPower #Respect #Revolutionary #CivilRights #CivilRightsMovement #BlackPanthers #ByAnyMeansNecessary #Souljaboy #NewYork #NYC #Manhattan #k3rryJones
Since it is #ThrowbackThursday, we would like to highlight and celebrate father, son, husband, singer, songwriter, civil rights activist and entrepreneur the late great Sam Cooke. If you haven’t watched the documentary about his life on @netflix, please be sure to do so. Thank you, Sam for sharing your gifts with us.
We celebrate our kings daily!

Creator: Michael Ochs Archives
Credit: Getty Images

#Kings #Queens #BlackHistory #wecelebrateeveryday #BHM #melanin #mahogany #love #community #respect #blackexcellence #hisvibe #akingscorner #tagafriend #SeeHim #LoveHim #CelebrateHim #blackpower #blm #civilrights #blackhistory365 #blackboston
Although she is not always recognized as part of the American tradition of protest music, Nina Simone (1933-2003) was a powerful influence throughout the civil rights movement. She was a clasically trained pianist who embraced a wide range of styles. Simone also wrote several books detailing her experiences as both activist and musician. The documentary What Happened, Miss Simone? In recent times she has regained and drawn attention to the renewed interests in the impact of her work #civilrights #musicianactivist #feminism #weriseup #riseinsolidarity #blacklivesmatter #protestmusic #nychardcore #ninasimone #happybirthdayninasimone
Currently in Birmingham, Alabama exploring the National Civil Rights Monument. #alabama #birmingham #civilrights #travel
@repjohnlewis wishing you the happiest of birthdays. Thank you so much for your commitment to racial justice and civil rights 💫
.
.
.
.
#blackhistorymonth #blackhistory #bhm #civilrights #johnlewis #birthday #happybirthday #hbd
What an interesting plot twist to Black History Month! .
.
Jussie... what are we going to do with you??? My latest blog post talks about his situation, the questions it made me ask, and the stark contrast between him and Civil Rights leaders of the past. .
.
Jussie is what happens when anger and frustration meet the misuse of a large platform, mixed with attention seeking... I hope he will be ok.
.
.askablackgirl.org
.
.
#blackhistorymonth #counselinghelps #factsfirts #makeamericagreatagain #maga #magacountry #civilrights #civilrightsleaders
Happy birthday, Nina. --------------------------------------------------
#ninasimone #pianist #blackhistorymonth #blackhistory #soul #soulmusic #jazz #blues #classical #music #civilrights #activist #songwriter #genius
you just never know who you will have the pleasure of exchanging conversation with while waiting to get your eyebrows waxed..... 💫
.
.
.
#atl #bestofthebest #amillionthankyous #extremegratitude #amazingconversation #thekindest #sweetestofsweet #genuineforthewin #civilrights #servantleader #icon @repjohnlewis
#CivilRights #StandingOnTheShouldersOfGiants #Blackness #History #BlackHistory
NEW Washington Bill Seeks To Repeal I-1639 Gun Control Law
🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
Video is LIVE on YouTube, Gunstreamer, Ugetube & Facebook
🇺🇸Channel in Bio🇺🇸 #america #2ndAmendment #sheepdog #billofrights #civilrights #Constitution #donttreadonme #freedom #guns #gunban #guncontrol #patriot #YouTube #gunstreamer #ugetube #facebook #washington
The face of a teacher excited to teach the next reading unit to her class because it is about civil rights. My grandmother taught me a lot about it as a kid plus my Sandy Spring Family already knows we born and raised "up school" & at the Sandy Spring Slave Museum! #JourneyWithJerika #teacherlife #Joy #Intentional #happyteacher #Year11 #CivilRights
Hope you can join us tonight!

The Auburn Avenue Research Library, in partnership with the Southern Center for Human Rights and the Georgia Association for Black Women Attorneys, will host author Janet Dewart Bell, who will discuss her publication, Lighting the Fires of Freedom: African American Women in the Civil Rights Movement.

In Lighting the Fires of Freedom, Janet Dewart Bell shines a light on women’s all-too-often overlooked achievements in the Movement. Through wide-ranging conversations with nine women, several now in their nineties with decades of untold stories, we hear what ignited and fueled their activism, as Bell vividly captures their inspiring voices.
Published to coincide with the fiftieth anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, Lighting the Fires of Freedom is a vital document for understanding the Civil Rights Movement, and an enduring testament to the vitality of women’s leadership, during one of the most dramatic periods of American history.

Janet Dewart Bell is a social justice activist with a doctorate in leadership and change from Antioch University. She founded the Derrick Bell Lecture on Race in American Society series at the New York University School of Law. An award-winning television and radio producer, she lives in New York City.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
#atlanta #georgia #libraries #library #africanamerican #african #africandiaspora #archives #africanculture #culture #civilrights #civilrightsmovement #womensstudies #womenscivilrights #blackwomen #africanamericanwomen #blackhistory #blackhistorymonth #blackhistorymonth2019
The following map is a depiction of the March on Milwaukee, which was part of a 1960's protest of segregation and discriminatory practices in schools, housing, and social clubs. It was made in 2007 by the UW-Milwaukee Libraries Cartography and GIS Center, which is now a part of the AGSL.
#blackhistorymonth #milwaukee #marchonmilwaukee #history #blackhistory #cartography #wisconsin #civilrights #librariesofinstagram #mapsofinstagram #maps #maplibraries
#ART#ILLUSTRATION #IMAGE #BROTHERMINISTER#MALCOLMX#MARTYR#UNITEDSTATES #60s#CIVILRIGHTS#BOMBING #WORLDWIDE #CANVAS #THEARTOFGRAFFITI
#ART#ILLUSTRATION #IMAGE #MARTYR#UNITEDSTATES #60s#CIVILRIGHTS#BOMBING #WORLDWIDE #CANVAS #THEARTOFGRAFFITI
Malcolm X, original name Malcolm Little, Muslim name el-Hajj Malik el-Shabazz, (born May 19, 1925 - assassinated February 21, 1965) was a minister, human rights activist, a black nationalist leader and prominent figure in the Nation of Islam who articulated concepts of race pride and black nationalism in the early 1960s.

Described as a fiery civil rights leader and an articulate, passionate, naturally gifted and an inspirational orator, he encouraged the black people to break off from the shackles of racism “by any means necessary” including racism.
X was famously quoted in his autobiography “early in life i had learned that if you want something you had better make some noise”.... He continues to live in our collective memories as an icon in the pantheon of fearless Black leaders
#ART#ILLUSTRATION #IMAGE #BROTHERMINISTER#MALCOLMX#2pac
#MARTYR#UNITEDSTATES #60s#90s
#CIVILRIGHTS#BOMBING #WORLDWIDE #CANVAS #THEARTOFGRAFFITI
Met these two amazing people at @gaytimesfestival 💝 Thanks for repping our Trans Flag design @nick__spurway @sxphie.forrest 💞🙏✨ #Repost from @nick__spurway. We spotted these amazing tees and tanks at @gaytimesfestival from @queerfame. 25% of the profits go to humanitarian charities. Get on it! Proud to wear and support & love my trans family ✊🏻✊🏻✊🏻 @sxphie.forrest
#ART#ILLUSTRATION #IMAGE #HUEYPNEWTON
#BLACKPANTHER#MARTYR#UNITEDSTATES #60s#70s
#CIVILRIGHTS#BOMBING #WORLDWIDE #CANVAS #THEARTOFGRAFFITI
#ART#ILLUSTRATION #IMAGE #BROTHERMINISTER#MALCOLMX#MARTYR#UNITEDSTATES #60s#CIVILRIGHTS#BOMBING #WORLDWIDE #CANVAS #THEARTOFGRAFFITI
Currently in Birmingham, Alabama exploring the National Civil Rights Monument and I couldn’t help but take this woman’s photo. She taught me more than a museum ever could. #civilrights #history #alabama #Birmingham #travel
Happy Birthday Nina Simone 🎈She’s would have been 86 years old today. Nina Simone is one of the most extraordinary artist of the 20th century, an icon of American music. She was the consummate musical storyteller, a griot as she would come to learn, who used her remarkable talent to create a legacy of liberation, empowerment, passion and love ❤️ through a magnificent body of works. She earned the moniker “High Priestess of Soul” for she could weave a spell so seductive and hypnotic that the listener lost track of time and space as they became absorbed in the moment. Born 2-21-33 to 4-21-03
https://bit.ly//1l8MM09 “Feeling Good”
ninasimone.com - biography
#ninasimone #sultry #poet #singer #jazz #blues #folkmusic #pianist 🎹 #activist #civilrights #musician #classicalpiano #feelinggood #icon #legend #juilliardschool #composer #gospel #rnb #legacy #soul #Bethlehem #mississippigoddamn #records #royalties #France #ronniescottsjazzclub #RCA #iputaspellonyou 💋 #genre
In celebration of Black History Month, GIFT Grand Rapids is highlighting the amazing activism and life of Bishop Yvette A. Flunder. Bishop Yvette Flunder is a native San Franciscan and third generation preacher with roots in the Church of God in Christ. Bishop Flunder is an ordained minister of the United Church of Christ and holds both masters and doctorate degrees in Ministry from the Pacific School of Religion and the San Francisco Theological Seminary, respectively. In 2003, she was appointed Presiding Bishop of The Fellowship of Affirming Ministries, a multi-denominational coalition of over 56 churches and faith-based organizations from all over the world.

For more information, please click here: http://www.cityofrefugeucc.org/about-bishop-flunder.html

#giftgrandrapids #queerchristian #queer #bornthisway #bornperfect #loveislove #lovewins #empowerment #giftgr #grmi #onegr #faithfullylgbt #lgbtchristians #gaychristians #lgbt #lgbtq #queergrace #lgbtqactivism #lgbtqpioneers #lgbtqactivists #civilrights #humanrights #celebratingblackhistorymonth #blackhistorymonth #bishopyvetteflunder #cityofrefugeunitedchurchofchrist
African-American abolitionist #FrederickDouglass died on February 20, 1895 in Washington, DC. He spent his life fighting for African-Americans, women and other oppressed groups. President Abraham Lincoln could never have passed the Emancipation Proclamation without the political and social groundwork laid by Douglass. He was the epitome of the self-made man, who honed his intelligence, courage and emotional discipline to forge himself into an extraordinary leader. His legacy of keen vision, steadfast resolution and moral judgment made a huge and lasting positive impact on the progress of the United States. #BlackHistoryMonth #leadership #civilrights #suffrage
Reposted from @chuckstyless - “BHM PAC” by @chuckstyless 🔅 “I’m not saying I’m gonna change the world, but I guarantee that I will spark the brain that will change the world.”– Tupac Shakur
________________________
Use Promo Code “BHM19” for 25% OFF
Prints at www.artofchuckstyles.com
______________________________
#chuckstyles #bhm #blackhistorymonth #blackexcellence #tupacshakur #civilrights #tupac #2pac #hiphop #digitalpainting #artwork #fineart #mlk #dopeblackart #supportblackart #Itutu - #regrann
Congratulations to our @collegetrackneworleans Regional Executive Director Mike Woodward on becoming a fellow at the innovative W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Leadership Network with the Center for Creative Leadership!
.
The 18-month fellowship brings together a group of 80 diverse and compassionate leaders across the U.S. and sovereign tribes to address structural inequities and advance racial equity AND healing in our local communities. We are looking forward to seeing what @cmikewoodward does through the fellowship to help find new pathways for collaboration and to bridge the deep divides our nation is facing today.
.
@kelloggfoundation #WKKFCLN @ccldotorg #fellowships #leadershipdevelopment #leaders #socialequity #civilrights #changeisnow #changemakers #racialjustice #racialequality
DYK? From MLK to Malcolm X, many prominent civil rights figures spoke at #UBuffalo to inspire change. See their words to UB students and visit the 'Revolution: Civil Rights at UB' exhibit in Silverman Library to learn more!
.
.
.
#MartinLutherKingJr #MLK #AngelaDavis #ShirleyChisholm #CivilRights #Inspiration #BlackHistoryMonth #TBT #Throwback #ThrowbackThursday @ublibraries
Happy 79th birthday to @RepJohnLewis – your lifelong pursuit of justice should serve as an inspiration to us all. We hope you’re doing this dance today! #BHM⁠#WeAre400
***SWIPE👈🏻***
With Trump constantly fearmongering about supposedly dangerous refugees and undocumented immigrants coming into the U.S., and with the Jussie Smollett incident in which he staged a right-wing attack against himself dominating the headlines, I think it’s important to bring attention to the fact that far-right, cishet, white nationalist men are in fact the biggest terrorist threat in the United States and have been for years. The reality of the matter is that there are regularly unstaged violent attacks carried out by right-wing extremists occurring throughout the country, and virtually none of them are implemented by undocumented immigrants. America, we have a problem that needs to be addressed, but it won’t be as long as Trump is in the White House. Swipe👈🏻 to learn more.

Credit for videos: @nowthisnews, @wokevideo, @thesavoyshow, & @ijessewilliams
✊🏻✊🏼✊🏽✊🏾✊🏿🏳️‍🌈
#MakeRacistsAfraidAgain #VoteProgressive #VoteBlue #WhiteSupremacy #WhiteNationalism #Racism #Extremism #ToxicMasculinity #Patriarchy #FuckTrump #StopTrump #ResistTrump #DumpTrump #Resist #Resistance #Humanist #Humanism #Atheist #Atheism #Feminist #Feminism #Activist #Activism #Progressive #HumanRights #CivilRights #SocialJustice #Equality #LoveTrumpsHate #StrongerTogether
Nina Simone
.
.
.
.
#ninasimone #belyportafolio #soul #jazz #blues #randb #martinlutherking #music #free #afroamericans #rights #love #afrodescendentes #freedom #civilrights #african #american #iputspellonyou #france #21f #bogota #venezuela #caracas #colombia #musica #love #afroamericanos #afro.
.
.
.

Licence: You’re free to use this song in any of your videos, but you must include the following in your video description (Copy & Paste): Soul (Vlog Music) by Dj Quads https://soundcloud.com/aka-dj-quads Music promoted by Audio Library https://youtu.be/m0UBmJLv208
#Lego #martinlutherking #History #Blackhistory #civilrights
We hope you'll join us in wishing a very happy birthday to music and civil rights icon, Nina Simone! 🎂 Did you know that her childhood home in Tryon, North Carolina is one of our National Treasures? We are working to preserve her home and her legacy alongside four New York City-based, African American artists, the Nina Simone Project, @worldmonumentsfund, and @ncculture's North Carolina African American Heritage Commission. Head to the link in our profile to learn more about our work and how you can help today. 📷: Nancy Pierce⁣
.⁣
.⁣
.⁣
.⁣
#savingplaces #tellthefullhistory #historic #preservation #africanamerican #history #blackexcellence #music #civilrights #activism #ninasimone #tryon #northcarolina #architecture #interior #details #ellengallagher #juliemehretu #birthday #onthisday #linkinbio
Do you know the story of the Little Rock 9? The Little Rock Nine were a group of nine black students who enrolled at formerly all-white Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas, in September 1957. Their attendance at the school was a test of Brown v. Board of Education, a landmark 1954 Supreme Court ruling that declared segregation in public schools unconstitutional. The group has been widely recognized for their significant role in the civil rights movement. Did you know that civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr. attended graduation ceremonies at Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas in May 1958 to see Ernest Green, the only senior among the Little Rock Nine, receive his diploma? We honor Black History Month, and those making a difference, those fighting for civil rights, and those taking a stand. See a link to more on the story of the Little Rock 9 in our Instagram bio. #littlerock9 #civilrights #blackhistorymonth #history #ernestgreen #terrenceroberts #mlk
Thank you @torontodeltas for sharing this. The Viola Desmond vertical $10 bill went into circulation on November 19, 2018.
Viola Desmond was a black businesswoman who was jailed, convicted and fined for refusing to leave a whites-only area of a movie theatre in 1946 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Her court case was an inspiration for the pursuit of racial equality across Canada.
Viola’s story is part of the permanent collection at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights in Winnepeg, Manitoba. Pictured is Wanda Robson, her sister. Wanda made the first purchase with the new bill at the Museum For Human Rights in Winnipeg. #Courage #Dignity #ViolaDesmond #CivilRights #Canada #TBT #blackhistory #canadianblackhistory #DST1913 #GTAACDeltas #TorontoDeltas #dstmidwest #aphia1906 #torontoalphas #alphamidwest
FEBRUARY 21. 1965. The ASSASSINATION OF MALIK EL-SHABAZZ. -
-
“Malcolm X was an uncompromising advocate for the urban poor and working-class black America. Instead of advocating integration, he called for self-determination; instead of nonviolence in the face of violent anti-black attacks, he called for self-defense. He reserved moral appeals for other people committed to social justice; the government, on the other hand, he understood in terms of organized power -- to be challenged, disrupted and/or dismantled -- and sought to leverage alliances with newly independent African states to challenge that power.
After Malcolm left the Nation of Islam in March 1964, agents pondered the prospect of a depoliticized more religious Malcolm, but still perceived him as a threat. On June 5, 1964, Hoover sent a telegram to the FBI's New York office that simply and plainly instructed, "Do something about Malcolm X enough of this black violence in NY." One wonders, what that "something" was.”
👀🤔
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.cnn.com/cnn/2015/02/17/opinion/ali-malcolm-x-assassination-anniversary/index.html
————————-
#LostGen8 🏴
————————-
#ase #malcolmx #malikelshabazz #revolutionary #nationalist #hoover #muslim #african #alkebulan #speaker #leader #activist #civil #rights #civilrights #humanrights #sovereignty #claim #nationality #problack #photography #blackandwhite #fightthepower #brother #comrade #assassination #ancestor #anniversary #cointelpro
21/28: Jean-Michel Basquiat
Born on my Judah’s birthday in 1960 in Brooklyn, New York, #Painter and #StreetArtist he was fluent in French, English, and Spanish by age 11. Half Haitian and half Puerto Rican, he was fascinated with the structure of the human body & often referenced it in his art. He made poetry, music, and street art and mixed jazz, hip hop, and black history in his imaginative art ❤️
.
.
#28daysofBlackexcellence #BlackExcellence #28daysofBlackHistory #BlackHistoryMonth #Black #trinidadandtobago #BrownPeople #CivilRights #POC #PeopleOfColor #BlackHistory #Educateyourkids #Melanin #MalaninPoppin #BlackMothers #BiracialFamily #BlackEmpowerment #BlackCulture #BlackEmpowerment #UnapologeticallyBlack #BlackIsBeautiul #BlackCulture #blackcommunity #blackandProud #JWCJBlacknProud
This community potluck We will be joined by Professor Vaughn Booker for a conversation about Muslims and the civil rights era!
All are welcome 😁
#alnur #dartmouthmsa #dartmouth #dartmouthcollege #interfaith #ivyleague #ivymuslims #religion #muslims #islam #civilrights #blackhistorymonth
* Scroll down to enter contest. *

Happy birthday to the legendary Nina Simone who, born on February 21, 1933, would have been 86 today. In her honor, we would love to send this magnet to someone for whom Nina Simone holds extra significance. Tell us your connection to Nina Simone, and we will pick one winner.
.
.
.
.
.
#ninasimone #civilrightsleader #voiceforchange #transformative #artforjustice #jazz #artist #civilrights #gift
HBD #ninasimone #singer #songwriter #activist #civilrights #blackexcellence #fashion #face101 #elegance #luxury
“The scars and stains of racism are still deeply embedded in the American Society...” John Lewis - ⭐️ Happy Birthday and a Black History Month to Representative John Lewis 🙌🏿✊🏿 #JohnLewis
#BlackExcellence
#CivilRights
#Activist
#Freedom
#JSPATL #JSPhotographyAtl
Happy 79th birthday today, John Lewis! Your struggles and sacrifices continue to inspire and provide a path toward a just and better tomorrow for all peoples. Live long, good sir! ❤️ #civilrights #selma #edmundpettusbridge #mlkjr #MarchOn
Repost from @iredellmuseums using @RepostRegramApp - Eunice Kathleen Waymon, born on February 21, 1933, in Tryon, NC, later became known as Nina Simone, a civil rights activist and one of the most influential singer/songwriters of the 20th century. She established friendships with many other leaders of the Civil Rights Movement and her music, spanning many genres including jazz, blues, and classical, reflects her experiences as an African American growing up in the Jim Crow south. Her powerful, sultry voice and evocative songs left an indelible impression on musicians and activists alike. Happy birthday to the High Priestess of Soul!
To learn more about Nina Simone and to hear her music visit the link in our bio. •


#happybirthday #ninasimone #nc #tryonnc #history #nchistory #jazz #blues #musician #activist #blackhistorymonth #civilrights #lovemeorleaveme #highpriestessofsoul #iredellmuseums #statesville #museum #americanhistory #blackhistorymonthiseverymonth
Today we remember on the 86th anniversary of her birthday; singer, musician & activist Nina Simone. “Mississippi Goddam” was banned in several Southern states, ostensibly because of the word “goddam” in the title, and quickly became an anthem for the Civil Rights Movement.
X
Boxes of promotional singles sent to radio stations around the country were returned with each record cracked in half. Here she is performing live in 1968. .
.
#civilrights #blackhistorymonth
#mississippigoddamn
#history #ninasimone
#blueshitbigtown 📽 @rityarchive
86 years ago today a musical legend & genius was born, Nina Simone 🎂🍾🥂 If you have time check out one of #billboard hits #Young, black & gifted" #queen #legend #ninasimone #happybirthday #birthdaygirl #vinyl #record #vinylcollection #vinylrecords #birthdayqueen #music #motown #soultrain #queen #africa #african #blackgirlmagic #singer #activist #artist #civilrights #youngblackandgifted #blacklivesmatter #blackhistorymonth #blackamerica
Harriet Tubman was an American abolitionist and political activist. Born into slavery, Tubman escaped and subsequently made some thirteen missions to rescue approximately seventy enslaved people, family and friends, using the network of antislavery activists and safe houses known as the Underground Railroad. She is one of our countries Great Mothers of freedom. She is truly God sent!! 🙏🌹💎👑👼 #blackhistorymonth #harriettubman #blackgoddess #blackexcellence #civilrights #activist #angel #warrior #strength #slavery #abolitionist #undergroundrailroad #hero #bravery #brave #courage #couragequotes #makeachange #dreamer #gun #undefeated #unbreakable #jesus #passion #stargazing #supernatural #instinct
D'#Atlanta à #Memphis, le #roadtrip de l'histoire afroaméricaine

Mon dernier article pour @lobs (lien en bio)
#afroamerican #history #blackhistorymonth #uscivilrightstrail #martinlutherking #rosaparks #civilrights #segregation #presstrip #alabama #tennessee #georgia #atlanta #montgomery #birmingham #memphis Merci / thanks again @travelsouthusa, @discoveratlanta, @alabamatravel, @memphistravel et/and @delta ❤️🇺🇲✈️
Merci aussi à @manenti_boris pour sa confiance 🙏
BREAKING: @politico reports that faith leaders and clergy are raising concerns that the New York State Legislature regarding proposed bills that would take jobs away from #MWBE contractors and workers of color in NYC’s construction industry. #WeAre400
Happy belated birthday to the wonderful #ToniMorrison. #BlackHistoryMonth #WeAre400
Or, pregnant, sick, depressed, fat, skinny, disabled, with cramps, and half asleep! 😜😛 #women #womenempowerment #womensworth #equality #equalpay #equalrights #fair #love #womensrights #smashthepatriarchy #womenswave #girlboss #mojo4thematriarch #democracy #civilrights #aoc
A reminder this week that we built this country on a shared willingness to defend individual dignity, to be greater than our fear, and in spite of that fear protect each other.
See you at the voting booth.
________________
.
.
.
.
#cherokee #cherokeestreet #stlouis #stl #missouri
#politics #wethepeople #womenempowerment #womeninpolitics #civilrights #votingrights #immigration #immigrant #city #community #urban #getoutthevote #vote #bluewave #america
#vsco #vscocam #lightroom #adobe #prohdr #shotoniphone
Men of quality do not fear equality
#womensmarch #womensmarchbayarea #womensmarchglobal #marketstreet #sanfrancisco #womensrightsarehumanrights
.
.
.
.
#march #protest #equality #civilrights #civilliberties #law #rights #politics #liberal #democrat #immigration #titleix #shotoniphone

Contik - это обзорщик фото и видео из Инстаграма.